Institutions

In the Wallonia-Brussels Federation, higher education covers three main types of institutions:

  • Universities. Universities offer high-quality training programmes in 21 extremely varied fields in the human and social sciences, health, art and science and technology. Besides a thorough knowledge of the chosen subject matter, university education provides students with a solid general education and an introduction to scientific research, both basic and applied.
  • University colleges. University colleges are higher education bodies that offer cutting-edge scientific and technological training that prepare for professions that require high qualifications. They are active in applied research in close contact with the professional world and academia.
  • The arts colleges. The arts colleges of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation are higher education institutions that organise courses combining theory, practice, teaching and research in the following fields of art: art and art sciences; fine, visual and spatial arts; music; theatre and the dramatic arts; performing arts and broadcasting and communication technologies; dance.

Institutions

En Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, l’enseignement supérieur regroupe trois types d'établissements :

  • Les universités : les universités proposent des formations de qualité dans 21 domaines extrêmement variés en sciences humaines, santé, art et sciences et techniques. Outre une connaissance approfondie de la matière choisie, l’enseignement universitaire offre aux étudiants une solide formation générale et une initiation à la recherche scientifique, tant fondamentale qu’appliquée.

 

  • Les hautes écoles : les hautes écoles sont des établissements d’enseignement supérieur proposant des formations scientifiques et technologiques de pointe qui préparent à des objectifs professionnels de haute qualification. Elles sont actives dans la recherche appliquée en relation étroite avec le monde professionnel et les universités.

 

  • Les écoles supérieures des arts : les écoles supérieures des arts de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles sont des établissements d’enseignement supérieur qui organisent des formations alliant théorie, pratique, enseignement et recherche dans les domaines artistiques suivants : art et sciences de l’art, arts plastiques, visuels et de l’espace, musique, théâtre et les arts de la parole, arts du spectacle et techniques de diffusion et de communication, danse.