Head office

Place du Parc 20
7000 Mons

UMONS was created in 2009 following a merger between the Université de Mons-Hainaut and the Faculty of Engineering of Mons, the university’s oldest faculty.

> UMONS is one of the founding members of the Pôle hainuyer, one of the five academic clusters instituted in the Wallonia-Brussels Federation under the scope of the restructuring of higher education. It assumes the co-presidency of this cluster, which groups together 3 universities, 3 university colleges, 3 schools of arts and 26 continuing education institutions, and offers nearly 600 courses in 21 fields of education to more than 30,000 students in the province of Hainaut.

> With more than 900 researchers, research objectives in UMONS are pursued both regionally and internationally. The common goal of all UMONS researchers is to develop expertise on a large scale, subsequently benefiting society, particularly the region.

>  Accommodating students in a learning environment suited to the individual is a priority of UMONS. Through the education on offer at UMONS, we promote critical thinking, open-mindedness, tolerance, responsibility, and autonomy, and develop students’ and researchers’ intellectual, cultural and human experiences in order for them to become responsible members of society.

This content is provided by the higher education institution.  

Campus

Head office

Place du Parc 20
7000 Mons

L’UMONS est née en 2009 de la fusion entre l’Université de Mons-Hainaut et de la Faculté Polytechnique de Mons, sa plus ancienne faculté.

> L’UMONS est l’un des membres fondateurs du Pôle hainuyer, l’un des cinq pôles académiques mis en place en Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles dans le cadre de la réorganisation du paysage de l’enseignement supérieur. Elle assume la co-présidence de ce Pôle hainuyer qui regroupe 3 Universités, 3 Hautes Écoles, 3 Écoles supérieures des Arts et 26 Établissements de Promotion sociale et propose à plus de 30.000 étudiants près de 600 formations dans 21 domaines d’enseignement sur le territoire de la province de Hainaut.

> S’appuyant sur près de 900 chercheurs, la recherche au sein de l’UMONS poursuit ses objectifs tant à l’échelle régionale qu’internationale avec, pour ambition commune, le développement d’une expertise, reconnue à large échelle et se concrétisant au bénéfice de la société et en particulier de sa région.

> L’UMONS place les étudiants au cœur de ses préoccupations et les accueillir dans un environnement d’études et de vie à dimension humaine fait partie des priorités de l’UMONS. Les formations dispensées visent à développer le bagage intellectuel, culturel et humain des étudiants et des chercheurs pour en faire des acteurs responsables en promouvant l’esprit critique, l’ouverture, la tolérance, la responsabilité et l’autonomie.

Ce texte est rédigé par l'établissement d'enseignement supérieur.

Campus